Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

1st Workshop in Chicago 2010

September 20, 2010 @ 8:30 am - 5:30 pm

N2 Women is pleased to announce the 1st Networking Networking Women Workshop. This workshop, which will be co-located with MobiCom/Hoc, will bring the research and career interests of women in networking and communications to the forefront. The N2 Women workshop has the following goals:

Creating new research connections
Mentoring undergraduate, graduate, and post-doc students
Obtaining feedback on research from members of the community
The workshop will feature keynote talks from distinguished members of our community, panel sessions, mentoring sessions, and a poster session. Keynote speakers include Radia Perlman (Intel), the “Mother of the Internet” and Klara Nahrstedt (UIUC), the Ralph M. and Catherine V. Fisher Professor.


8:30 – 9:00 Welcome
9:00 – 10:00 Keynote speaker (vision talk on wired networking)
Radia Perlman (Intel), the “Mother of the Internet”, slides (PDF)
10:00 – 10:30 Coffee break
10:30 – 11:30 Panel #1: Academia and Industry Research: Are they the same?
Radia Perlman (Intel, slides (PDF)), Lili Qui (University of Texas, Austin, slides (PDF)), Klara Nahrstedt (University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign) and Kristin Tolle (Microsoft Research, slides (PDF))
11:30 – 12:30 Panel #2: Getting funding for what you love
Mingyan Liu (University of Michigan, slides (PDF)), Darleen Fisher (National Science Foundation, slides (PDF)), Nalini Venkatasubramanian (University of California, Irvine) and Sujata Banerjee (HP Labs)
12:30 – 1:30 Lunch
1:30 – 2:30 Keynote speaker (vision talk on wireless networking)
Klara Nahrstedt ( University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign)
2:30 – 3:15 Poster session
3:15 – 3:30
Coffee break
3:30 – 4:15 Poster session
4:15 – 5:30 Mentoring Session

We encourage groups of mentors/students to attend dinner together!

Sponsors and Support

ACM Sigmobile, Microsoft Research and IEEE ComSoc provide technical support for the workshop.

Call for Posters
Posters are solicited for research related to any aspect of networking and communications. All researchers in the networking and communications fields are welcome to submit their work for presentation at this workshop. Each poster abstract will be reviewed by three members of the TPC. Posters will not be published and hence can be under submission for other conferences or workshops.

Submission Information
Each submission should be formatted as an extended abstract, describing the research to be presented in the poster. The length of the extended abstract should be at most TWO pages (formatted into the US letter size of 8.5 × 11 inches with fonts no smaller than 10 point size), including all figures and references. The extended abstract must include the names, affiliations and email addresses of all authors and should be submitted as a single PDF file to EasyChair: http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=mobicomhoc2010.

Important Dates:
Poster submission: July 19, 2010
Acceptance Notification: Aug 2, 2010
For more information, please contact the Workshop Chairs: n2women-workshop@acm.org

Travel funding
Travel funding details for the N2 Women workshop and MobiCom/Hoc conferences are described at http://www.sigmobile.org/mobicom/2010/travel.html
Application deadline July 15: travel grants due http://www.sigmobile.org/mobicom/2010/travel.html

Technical Program Committee

Tracy Camp, Colorado School of Mines, USA
Wendi Heinzelman, University of Rochester, USA
Vijayalakshmi Saravanan, Malardalen University, Sweden
Geethapriya Thamilarasu, State University of New York Institute of Technology, USA
Lakshmi Thanayankizil, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Michele Weigle, Old Dominion University, USA
Silvia Giordano, University of Applied Science SUPSI, Switzerland
Damla Turgut, University of Central Florida
Sumita Mishra, Rochester Institute of Technology
Organizing Committee

Tracy Camp, Colorado School of Mines
Wendi Heinzelman, University of Rochester
Vijayalakshmi Saravanan, VIT University (and Malardalen University)
Geethapriya Thamilarasu, SUNY IT, Utica
Lakshmi Thanayankizil, Georgia Institute of Technology
This information as a pdf.


Radia Perlma (Intel)
Klara Nahrstedt (University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign)
Lili Qui (University of Michigan)
Kristin Tolle (Microsoft Research)
Nalini Venkatasubramanian (University of California, Irvine)
Darlene Fisher (National Science Foundation)
Sujata Banerjee (HP Labs)
Wendi Heinzelman (University of Rochester)
Tracy Camp (Colorado School of Mines)
Mingyan Liu (University of Michigan)
Robin Kravets (University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign)
Mooi-Choo Chuah (Lehigh University)
Damla Turgut (University of Central Florida)
Sami Rollins (University of San Francisco)
Lu Ruan (Iowa State University)
Heather Zheng (University of California, Santa Barbara)
Violet Syrotiuk (Arizona State University)

Accepted Posters
Muthoni Masinde and Antoine Bagula: A Framework for Predicting Droughts in Developing Countries Using Sensor Networks and Mobile Phones

Nadine Shillingford and Christian Poellabauer: On Improving the Agility and Quality of Adaptation in QoS-Aware Routing

Milena Radenkovic and Andrew Grundy:

Congestion Aware Data Dissemination in Social Opportunistic Networks

Yanyan Zhuang, Jianping Pan, Yuanqian Luo and Lin Cai : Message Dissemination for Highway Vehicular Ad-Hoc Networks

Kerri Stone and Tracy Camp: Autonomous Dam Monitoring with Integrated Real-time Evaluation: ADMIRE

Smruti Padhy and Arzad Kherani: Asymptotic Properties of Age-based Scheduling

Yi Gu: Optimizing End-to-end Performance of Scientific Workflows in Distributed Environments

Alana Platt: Detecting Insider Misuse in a Mobile Computing Environment

Chen Liu, Janelle Harms and Mike MacGregor: Optimal Control To Improve Throughput, Energy Consumption and Fairness in Wireless Networks

Nomica Choudhry and Asad Khan: Identifier based Graph Neuron: A Light Weight Classification Scheme for WSN

Soudeh Ghorbani Khaledi and Yashar Ganjali: A Friend or an Adversary?

Lakshmi Thanayankizil and Mary Ann Ingram: Towards Reliable and Robust Routing for Sensor and Ad Hoc Wireless Networks

Anna Förster: FLEXOR: Flexible Run-Time Software Management Architecture for WSNs

Lichuan Liu: An Hybrid Location Method in Wireless Sensor Networks

Ou Yang and Wendi Heinzelman: Modeling and Performance Analysis for Duty-cycled MAC Protocols in Wireless Sensor Networks

Alicia Triviño Cabrera: Seamless Integration of MANETs into IP-based Access Networks

Katia Jaffrès-Runser, Mary R. Schurgot, Cristina Comaniciu and Jean-Marie Gorce: Multiobjective Optimization for the Performance Evaluation of Wireless Ad Hoc Networks

Ghazale Hosseinabadi and Nitin Vaidya: Exploiting Broadcast Characteristic of Wireless Networks to Improve Performance of Mutual Exclusion Algorithms

Sanaz Barghi, Hamid Jafarkhani and Homayoun Yousefi’zadeh: Cross-layer Design for Asynchronous Multiple-Packet Reception in WLANs

Aleisa Drivere, Antoine Ogbonna, Sandeep Gundla and Graciela Perera: A First Step towards Evaluating the Impact of Wide Area Deployments on the Internet

Ayaka Koshibe, Shweta Jain, Shridatt Sugrim, Ivan Seskar and Dipankar Raychaudhuri: GENI Campus Trials at Rutgers University: Infrastructure deployment using OpenFlow

Jeeyoung Kim and Ahmed Helmy: The Evolving Mobility and Predictability in WLAN Users

Aarti Munjal, Tracy Camp and William C. Navidi: SMOOTH: A Simple Way To Model Human Mobility


September 20, 2010
8:30 am - 5:30 pm
Event Categories:


Chicago, Illinois, USA
Chicago, IL United States

Our supporters